Latest News

Kevin Doyle’s Mo’ Money Earns J/22 Midwinter Championship

Kevin Doyle, Vic Snyder and Aaron Snyder’s Mo’ Money mastered the light conditions on Sunday to win their first J/22 Midwinter Championship. The Youngstown, New York-based team tallied a 4,3,1 for 8 points in the three-race series. No racing took place on Friday and Saturday due to high winds and storms. Travis Odenbach’s Sea Bags Sailing Team secured second place with 16 points, and Matt Thompson’s Underdog took third with 17 points. Thirty-two boats competed at the event hosted by Southern Yacht Club in New Orleans, LA. Going into the final race, the Doyle/Snyder team held a one-point advantage over Kevin’s brother Chris Doyle on The Jug 4 1. "We had a great start in the middle of the line with no one around us, and we launched," explained Kevin Doyle. "We kept touch with Chris, but mostly we just sailed ultra conservative. The winds were fluky in direction and velocity all day." Doyle and Snyder have been racing Mo’ Money for more than 20 years, previously with Kevin’s son Jake and now with Vic’s son Aaron. When asked what has kept him in the Class for so many years, Doyle replied, "Number one, the J/22 is a great boat, and number two is the people. Actually, those two are interchangeable. Good boats attract good people. And number three, we race in cool and folksy places."

The top five:

  1. 489, Mo' Money, Kevin Doyle, Youngstown Yacht Club, 4-3-1- ; 8
  2. 1542, Sea Bags Sailing Team, Travis Odenbach, Rochester Yacht Club, 5-8-3- ; 16
  3. 1311, Underdog, Matt Thompson, Wayzata Yacht Club, 12-1-4- ; 17
  4. 486, En Fuego, Michael Schmid, Wayzata Yacht Club, 9-6-6- ; 21
  5. 707, Tejas, Terry Flynn, GBCA/FWBC, 2-15-7- ; 24
    Sunday’s race winners were Peter Doyle and Jack Huebschmann’s Escape, Thompson’s Underdog and Mo' Money. Photos are available on the J/22 Class Facebook page, and complete results are available at
Hot Toddy Wins East Coast Championship
An annual classic during the fall in the Chesapeake Bay is the Annapolis Yacht Club Fall Series. This year, the event also co-hosted the J/22 East Coast Championship. There was great racing on Saturday, October 1 with three races, however Sunday dawned with grey skies and no breeze. In the end, just three races counted. Winning the East Coast Championship was Jeff Todd’s Hot Toddy, posting a 2-1-2 for 5 points over the 10-boat fleet. Taking second was JR Maxwell’s Scooby with a 1-3-3 with 7 points. Third was Jonathan Sauer’s Ekas with a 4-2-4 for 10 points. Rounding out the top five was Chris Junge’s Corner of Sanity & Madness with 11 points, and fifth was Trevor Perkins’ Slow Show with 15 points. For complete information, click here.
J/22 North American Championship
Written by Chris Howell   
Sunday, 25 September 2016 20:41

July 20-23, 2017
Buffalo Yacht Club, Buffalo, NY

The J/22 North American Championship will be held at the historic Buffalo Yacht Club. Mark your calendars for July 20-23 to make the memorable trip to western New York. Race against the best and most competitive racers on the circuit while taking in the flourishing city and ever-developing waterfront and to be next door to Niagara Falls, one of the seven natural wonders of the world.
Registration includes:
-Top notch racing led by Wayne Bretsch, PRO noted for his extensive nationwide sailing resume in Race Committee work
-Three social tickets for beverages and food (entertainment, food and beverage details are outlined and can be found in the posted NOR)
-Warm-up racing on Thursday, followed by three days of action packed, top-tier, one-design racing
-A complimentary keg courtesy of sponsors following each day of racing to refresh and rehydrate
-Three continental breakfast tickets for each morning of racing as well as for the cookout by the grill scheduled for Friday after racing
-Premium chicken dinner buffet on Saturday evening, complete with all the fixins
For more information, or to register, visit (regatta entry fee until 6/30/17: $350, late entry: $425).

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 March 2017 13:16
Shane Young wins California Dreamin’ Series
Written by Chris Howell   


The third and final stop of the California Dreamin’ Series for match racing finished on March 11-12 under sunny skies and light winds in San Francisco, CA. While local teams Russ Silvestri and Nicole Breault finished first and second, respectively, it was not enough to take the overall title away from Shane Young due to his second place finish at San Diego and and his victory at Long Beach. The California Dreamin’ Series consisted of three match racing events: the San Diego Yacht Club Stop on January 7-8, 2017 in J/22s, the Long Beach Yacht Club Stop on February 25-26, 2017 in Catalina 37s, and the St. Francis Yacht Club Stop on March 11-12, 2017 in J/22s. The winner of the series receives an invitation to the 2017 Grade 2 Ficker Cup March 24-26 in Long Beach, CA. The winning skipper and the second place skipper of the Ficker Cup shall receive invitations to the 2017 Grade WC WMRT Congressional Cup. For complete Series information, click here.

2017 J/22 World Championship
Written by Chris Howell   
Monday, 25 July 2016 19:22

May 30–June 4
Scheveningen, The Netherlands

Registration for the 2017 J/22 World Championship at the North Sea Regatta is open. The North Sea Regatta Week 2017 starts with the Vuurschepenrace from Scheveningen to Harwich on Saturday 27 May, followed by the RORC North Sea Race on 30 May. After the offshore races, they continue with three days of inshore racing, starting on Friday 2nd of June. During the North Sea Regatta Week 2017, the J/22 Worlds will also be held in Scheveningen, where racing for the J/22s starts on the 1st of June. The North Sea Regatta is The Hague’s annual sailing festival—the biggest sailing event along the Dutch North Sea Coast. Scheveningen is transformed into the epicenter of competitive sailing. There will be all kinds of boats, with a total of around 1,500 boats heading for the coast of The Hague.

Last Updated on Monday, 20 February 2017 19:59
More Articles...
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 4

Who's Online

We have 74 guests online